You are viewing site in development mode
Leadership Recruitment
The Town Hall

About the Council

Kirklees Metropolitan Borough Council, also known simply as Kirklees Council, is the local authority of the Metropolitan Borough of Kirklees in West Yorkshire, England. We are a metropolitan single tier authority, one of five in West Yorkshire, and the 13th biggest local authority in the UK in terms of population. Since 1 April 2014 we have been a constituent council of the West Yorkshire Combined Authority.

In total, the council is made up of 69 councillors, and the current composition is as follows:

Party Seats
Labour 36
Conservative 18
Liberal Democrat 8
Green 3
Independent Group 3
Independent (individual member) 1


We have an elected Leader and Cabinet structure, and a very talented and dedicated workforce across our five directorates:

Information about our Budgets and Accounts can be found here.

For further details about Kirklees Council click here.

For further details about the benefits of working for Kirklees Council please click here.

For further details about the Council and our democracy please click here.